new york blog day three

A subway to Brooklyn at 9.30am could never seem more cheery to me than a festive cup of hot cocoa. I was supposed to be going to Borough Hall but in a moment of weekness decided I simply must walk Brooklyn Bridge at this time in -3degrees, best idea yet. I also in my mind forgot to mention to myself that Brooklyn Bridge is about 2km’s long and that at 9.30am & -3degrees would seem more like 5K.

But thankfully, turned out to be the best decision ever. Stepping onto the old land of Brooklyn I said welcome to Brooklyn Baby until a local (probably 25 or so, too cool for new york type) stared at me as I walked away muttering ‘and I don’t care who knows it’.

Most exciting news of the day, met Australian Paris Irwin at brooklyn starbucks near Borough Hall. Not Bindi Irwin but Paris Irwin! She’s even more exotic. Jokes aside we both knew it would be an incredible day, clear skies ahead Brooklyn babies.

So off we wandered, quite literally. We had absolutely no idea what suburb we were in, what street we were in, what direction we were walking or what we would find. But boy did we find some goodies. I’d say personal fave would have to be this gallery warehouse that we wandered into and ended up in for a good half an hour. Totally in the middle of nowhere. Totally rad.

Our lazy a*ses caught an uber to Williamsburg, quite possibly the hippest part of Brooklyn on a mission to find a good feed. The uber shared his love of churches with Australia’s most architecturally traversed church hunter (being Paris) and continued to tell me I was crazy when I told him I had walked the Brooklyn Bridge at 9.30am this morning.

After arriving at Mast Brothers Chocolate, a ridiculously groovy factory for chocolate and a store that smells like heaven dipped in chocolate, we ate right next door at a restaurant called Egg. Before you even ask I don’t think I saw anything with Eggs on the menu. Believe or not, 12 year old Paris & Rylie got served a cider & a mimosa before preceding to draw on the tablecloth made of butchers paper with the colourful crayons on our table.

After our happy & warm hearts were full we wandered this hipster district inside and out, finding Carribean bars, graffiti art streets, architecture that could make Paris cry and many a many groovy stores. We stopped at Toby’s Estate coffee (the very very best in coffee), I practically bounced there from two streets away, desperate for a cup of unfiltered coffee.

On our way home we found this hall of pop up shops where we found the cutest postcards and this one store that I went crazy in, think soft pink scarfs, embroidered beanies and grey felt coats with oversized fur pockets. And of course we stopped at a Photo Booth!

We called an uber at around 6.30/7pm before I popped into Wholefoods (which is the american equivalent of heaven) and bought sushi, some ginger lemon health juice and these waffle cookies with caramel in the middle (oh my god they are so good).

We parted ways at the subway and promise we’ll be back at it with the adventures soon. More to come x …

Leave a comment